This post is brought to you by Big Easy Notary and Auto Title
10. Not buying a car from the right person. Make sure the person who is selling you the car is the person listed as the titled owner. Ask for a copy of their ID. If two people are listed as titled owners, you will need BOTH PEOPLE to sign as sellers. Tip: If someone tells you it’s their car simply because they are driving it…run away.
9. Not getting the title. The TITLE is the document that transfers ownership. If a seller hands you a registration, that’s helpful to verify information, but cannot be used for a sale. In Louisiana, titles are brown, and slightly smaller than an 8.5 x 11 piece of paper–if you don’t have that, you will not be able to complete the transfer.
8. Not getting a copy of an out-of-state-license for an out-of-state vehicle. If the seller has an out of state title- like if the car is titled in Texas- the seller needs to provide a copy of their out-of-state drivers license. Alternatively, the title & bill of sale must be notarized in a state other than Louisiana, or the seller can provide a notarized affidavit stating that he is not a resident of Louisiana and list his out of state address. If the documents submitted were notarized in Louisiana, and the seller cannot provide an out-of-state drivers license, it is assumed that the registered owner shown on the out-of-state title has become a resident of Louisiana and must pay use tax. A “double transfer” will be processed and taxes are due on both transactions.
7. You buy a vehicle with a salvage title. Many good cars have salvage titles, but use extra care and ask about repairs and how the vehicle sustained damage. A salvage/reconstructed title means at one point in time, the vehicle was declared a total loss, meaning it had sustained damage equivalent to 75% or more of its retail value. The flag on the title will remain with the vehicle.
6. Not getting it notarized. In Louisiana, title transfers MUST BE NOTARIZED. This requires either (a) a notary or (b) affidavit by witness. If a notary cannot be present, two witnesses can watch the buyer and the seller sign the title. The witnesses sign their names where indicated under the buyer’s signature. The buyer will bring the title and one of the witnesses to the notary, and the notary will complete the Acknowledgement of Witness section of the title.
5. Not getting an odometer statements. You will need to know the correct mileage for vehicles 9 years old or newer. You do not need to know mileage on cars 10 years or older.
4. Not having insurance. Louisiana law requires that proof of liability insurance be provided at the time of registration of a vehicle. Acceptable proof of liability insurance includes:
–Copy of insurance policy or binder; or
–Copy of I.D. card issued by insurance company; or
–Copy of declaration page; or
–Written statement from the insurance company or agent. This statement must be on letterhead stationery, signed by representative of company/agent, and include full description of the vehicle, including the VIN.
3. Not asking about successions. If the owner has passed away and a family member wants to sell their car, certain documents will be required to process the transfer. What is needed depends on the circumstances. Sometimes a succession was never opened. Sometimes it was opened, but not closed. Sometimes it has been fully completed. The circumstances will dictate who needs to sign the title & bill of sale.
2. Forgetting about sales tax. Louisiana law requires that a tax be imposed on the sale or use of any motor vehicle, automobile, motorcycle, truck, , trailer, , motor home, or any other vehicle subject to the vehicle registration license tax. Sales/use tax must be collected on all transfers of motor vehicles based on the selling price as shown on the notarized bill of sale or dealer invoice or as written on the back of the title
1. Not getting all the free advice possible. Before you buy, ask Big Easy Notary & Auto Title! Advice is always free. Call us, 985-626-4114, email us email@example.com or Facebook us www.facebook.com/bigeasynotary. We’re happy to help you! We’re open 9-5 Monday through Friday and Saturdays 10-2.
Latest posts by Guest (see all)
- Can We Talk About How No One Puts Their Carts Back? (One Mom’s Opinion) - September 23, 2019
- No, Queen. One Mom’s Opinion on the Breastfeeding Rhetoric - August 8, 2019
- Use These Three Tips to Help Protect the Dental Health of Your Older Child - June 20, 2019